The Invasion of the Americans

“So the visit has come and gone! It was a good surprise, which then turned into a very interesting 10 days. My mother accidentally lost her purse in the Subway inBerlin, when we were on our way to finding the apartment. Which of course had all her cards, passport etc. But after we got over that little hiccup the trip was so much fun. It was my sister, my mother, her boyfriend, and my two best friends Monica and Paola. The week they were here was of course horrible weather, we rented an apartment in Berlin and did the normal sightseeing touristy things, and then we took the train up to Waren for the weekend so my family could meet the Bauer’s. It was wonderful!! We had a BBQ and even though my family doesn’t speak German, and the Bauer’s don’t speak much English it was a great weekend. Then we went back to Berlin on Monday, and spent the last couple of days in Berlin exploringPotsdamand did Checkpoint Charlie. Then we had to say goodbye but it wasn’t that bad, there are only 2 and a half months left until I fly home.”

Journal Entry Tuesday April 22nd , 2008. Waren, Müritz

Well there was no visit from my family this time around, since I was only here for a bit and my sister graduated from Niagara University and they had to move her home etc. And besides I was only gone for almost 6 months this time it’s not like they forgot what I looked like. However, my Aunt Jackie did come to visit, with her niece, Morgan as part of Morgan’s graduation from high school present. They spent the week in Berlin and I met them in Dresden for the weekend. It was an absolutely wonderful weekend. Jackie worked on a tourist ship that used to travel up and down the Elbe River and her German is very good. We explored Dresden and the surrounding areas. We also rented a canoe on Sunday and paddled down the river. Then sadly we had to say our goodbyes, as I headed back to Leipzig to finish up finals, and they took the train to Berlin to send there last two days.